Connect with Us  ICON_Yelp ICON_youtube ICON_LinkedIn ICON_Facebook
Login

Island Flowers Troupe Rehearsal


This class is taught by:

Karen Sun Ray

Karen has an extensive background in folk dances of Europe, Asia, the Americas and Polynesia and has studied and performed Middle Eastern Dance since 1976. She has eight years of experience as a performance director for folk dance groups. She has performed with Gainesville, Florida's internationally known professional ballet company, DanceAlive!, and has choreographed folk dance pieces for their production of Dracula. She is a member of the Sahnobar Dance Ensemble who has performed at Disney's EPCOT, Universal Studios, St. Petersburg's Florida International Museum openings of "Splendors of Ancient Egypt" and "Alexander the Great" to name a few. She has had the privelege of performing interpretive dance with world beat bands such as the Exotic Music Ensemble (Gainesville, Florida) and Loud Zoo (St. Petersburg, Florida). In 1998, she toured the country with a Polynesian performing group based in Orlando. Her teaching career began at an early age along side her mother and continues until today. Karen co-founded Hip Expressions in 2004, and operates as the Bookings Coordinator and Performances Director. http://www.hip-expressions.com/HipEx/Karen.html
The Island Flowers is a Hip Expressions Studio company specializing in Polynesian dance. Students will learn troupe choreographies, as well as develop solos for performances at 1001 Nights Showcases, Studio shows, and various other community outreach events. Participation in the Island Flowers is for intermediate/advanced students to professional dancers who show passion and dedication, and is by invitation only. Students who are interested in joining should speak directly to the Director, Karen Sun Ray, about their intent, and will be given guidelines to follow that would potentially lead to an invitation.
Directed by Karen Sun Ray, dancers in Island Flowers will develop performance technique, stage presence, gain performance savy, and learn to work as a group and solo, while continuing to refine their technique and learn the cultural aspects of this ethnic dance form. The Island Flowers mission is to have fun and inspire and educate others through group performances, while fostering the growth of individual dancers.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon May 01 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 08 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 15 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 22 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 29 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 05 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 12 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 19 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 26 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 03 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 10 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 17 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 24 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 31 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 07 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 14 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 21 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 28 8:15 pm - 9:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray