Connect with Us  ICON_Yelp ICON_youtube ICON_LinkedIn ICON_Facebook
Login

Polynesian Dance


This class is taught by:

Karen Sun Ray

Karen has an extensive background in folk dances of Europe, Asia, the Americas and Polynesia and has studied and performed Middle Eastern Dance since 1976. She has eight years of experience as a performance director for folk dance groups. She has performed with Gainesville, Florida's internationally known professional ballet company, DanceAlive!, and has choreographed folk dance pieces for their production of Dracula. She is a member of the Sahnobar Dance Ensemble who has performed at Disney's EPCOT, Universal Studios, St. Petersburg's Florida International Museum openings of "Splendors of Ancient Egypt" and "Alexander the Great" to name a few. She has had the privelege of performing interpretive dance with world beat bands such as the Exotic Music Ensemble (Gainesville, Florida) and Loud Zoo (St. Petersburg, Florida). In 1998, she toured the country with a Polynesian performing group based in Orlando. Her teaching career began at an early age along side her mother and continues until today. Karen co-founded Hip Expressions in 2004, and operates as the Bookings Coordinator and Performances Director. http://www.hip-expressions.com/HipEx/Karen.html
Learn the dances of the Polynesian islands, including Hawaiian hula and Tahitian o’tea.
Hula is an ancient Hawaiian art form, which rhythmically tells a story through dance and hand movements.
The Tahitian o’tea is a very fast drum dance, done using rapid hip movements. In modern day Tahiti, it is performed at festivals and events, but it originated as a warrior dance.
Students will learn basic movements used in Hawaiian and Tahitian dancing, proper dance technique, and build stamina and endurance. Be prepared to dance with flowing arms and swaying hips... And a little bit of sweat too!

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon May 01 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 08 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 15 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 22 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon May 29 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 05 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 12 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 19 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jun 26 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 03 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 10 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 17 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 24 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Jul 31 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 07 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 14 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 21 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray
  • Mon Aug 28 7:15 pm - 8:15 pm with Karen Sun Ray